Facebook Twitter Instagram Desksite Tumblr
  • RSS

Blue Jackets forward Nick Foligno nominated for Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

Thursday, 04.3.2014 / 9:25 AM ET / News
By BlueJackets.com Staff
Share with your Friends

Blue Jackets forward Nick Foligno nominated for Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

The Columbus chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers Association has nominated Columbus Blue Jackets forward Nick Foligno for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, the club announced today. The award is given annually to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.

Foligno, 26, has tallied 18 goals and 21 assists for 39 points with 94 penalty minutes and a +5 plus/minus rating in 69 games this season. He is tied for the club lead in penalty minutes and game-winning goals (five), is third in plus/minus (+5, tied) and fourth in goals (18, tied) and points.

The Buffalo, New York native has registered 85-121-206 and 421 penalty minutes in 465 career NHL games with the Blue Jackets and Ottawa Senators during his seven-year professional career, including 24-24-58 and 122 penalty minutes in 114 games since joining the Blue Jackets prior to the 2012-13 season.

The winner of the Masterton Trophy is selected by a poll of the 30 chapters of the PHWA at the conclusion of the regular season. The trophy was first presented by the NHL writers in 1968 in honor of the late Bill Masterton, a player for the Minnesota North Stars who exhibited the qualities for which the trophy embodies, and who died on Jan. 15, 1968. Last year’s winner was Josh Harding of the Minnesota Wild. Previous Blue Jackets nominees for the award include: Kevin Dineen (2000-01 and 2001-02, finalist both years), Luke Richardson (2002-03), Manny Malhotra (2003-04), Duvie Westcott (2005-06), Fredrik Norrena (2006-07), Pascal Leclaire (2007-08), Raffi Torres (2008-09), Jared Boll (2009-10), Derek MacKenzie (2010-11), Curtis Sanford (2011-12) and Vinny Prospal (2012-13).

BlueJackets.com is the official Web site of the Columbus Blue Jackets. The Columbus Blue Jackets and columbusbluejackets.com are trademarks of The Columbus Blue Jackets Hockey Club.  NHL and the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup are registered trademarks and the NHL Shield and NHL Conference logos are trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P.  Copyright © 2016 Columbus Blue Jackets Hockey Club and the National Hockey League.  All Rights Reserved. View the Columbus Blue Jackets Privacy Policy AdChoices NHL.com Terms of Service
Please use the feedback form if you have any recommendations or comments.