Jackets extend franchise-best points streak in SO loss

Rob Mixer  - (@RobMixer) | Wednesday, 08.06.2014 / 4:50 AM

The Chicago Blackhawks got back into the win column Thursday, but the Columbus Blue Jackets managed to extend their own historic points streak.

Jonathan Toews and Patrick Kane scored in the shootout to give the Blackhawks a 2-1 win at Nationwide Arena, their 11th consecutive victory over the Blue Jackets. Chicago got its first win after losing two in a row following a season-opening 24-game points streak (21-0-3).

Columbus got a point in its ninth consecutive game, a franchise record. The Blue Jackets have gone to overtime in eight of its past nine games.

Blue Jackets goalie Sergei Bobrovsky made 39 saves; the Blackhawks' Corey Crawford stopped 29 shots through 65 minutes and two more in the shootout.

Artem Anisimov scored for Columbus to start the shootout. Toews matched Anisimov's goal. Crawford denied Ryan Johansen before Kane scored on his patented delay move, waiting for Bobrovsky to commit then going forehand-backhand, under the crossbar. Crawford's save on Derick Brassard ended the game.

The teams combined for 13 shots in overtime, with the Blackhawks taking seven. But Columbus had the best chance to score when Nick Foligno came up left wing on a 2-on-1, worked his way between the circles and tried to go the other way on Crawford but missed wide.

The Blackhawks killed 1:32 of a power play at the end of regulation and the first 28 seconds to start overtime.

Chicago opened the scoring on Johnny Oduya's first goal of the season late in the second period.

Kane gathered the puck slightly in front of the right point and sent a diagonal cross-ice pass against the flow of players to Oduya near the left circle. The defenseman's shot beat Bobrovsky at 16:45.

It took the Blue Jackets less than a minute to tie the game.

Brandon Dubinsky won an offensive-zone faceoff to his left. Brassard sent the puck from there across the ice to Jack Johnson moving forward from the blue line. Johnson ripped a one-timer past Crawford at 17:37 for his fourth of the season.

Johnson has four points in six games since returning from a shoulder injury on March 5.

Scoring Summary
1st Period
2nd Period
16:45CHI Johnny Oduya (1) ASST: Patrick Kane (17), Niklas Hjalmarsson (5) 1 - 0 CHI
17:37CBJ PPG - Jack Johnson (4) ASST: Derick Brassard (11), Brandon Dubinsky (8) 1 - 1 Tie
3rd Period
OT Period
1CBJArtem Anisimov - Goal
2CHIJonathan Toews - Goal
3CBJRyan Johansen - Save
4CHIPatrick Kane - Goal
5CBJDerick Brassard - Save
Shootout Summary
RNDColumbus Blue JacketsChicago Blackhawks
1Artem AnisimovJonathan Toews
2Ryan JohansenPatrick Kane
3Derick Brassard
Three Stars of the Game
Sergei Bobrovsky
Sergei Bobrovsky
SA: 40TOI: 65:00
GA: 1EV: 36-37
PIM: 0PP: 3-3
SV%: .975SH: 0-0
Corey Crawford
Corey Crawford
SA: 30TOI: 65:00
GA: 1EV: 27-27
PIM: 0PP: 2-3
SV%: .967SH: 0-0
Patrick Kane
Patrick Kane
G: 0Shots: 2
A: 1Hits: 1
PTS: 1PIM: 0
+/-: 1TOI: 20:20
Penalty Summary
1st Period
17:37CBJ Matt Calvert  Fighting (maj) against  Andrew Shaw
17:37CHI Andrew Shaw  Fighting (maj) against  Matt Calvert
2nd Period
03:17CBJ Colton Gillies  Tripping against  Marian Hossa
17:04CHI Sheldon Brookbank  Holding against  Derick Brassard
3rd Period
18:28CHI Viktor Stalberg  Interference on goalkeeper against  Sergei Bobrovsky
OT Period
shots by period
Team Stats
Power Plays0/11/2
Faceoff Wins3330
Blocked Shots1517
Penalty Minutes97
2D. KeithD0004025:33
4N. HjalmarssonD0111025:16
7B. SeabrookD0003025:59
8N. LeddyD0001014:59
16M. KrugerC0000013:56
17S. BrookbankD0001212:24
19J. ToewsC0007020:03
20B. SaadL0001017:29
25V. StalbergL0004214:02
27J. OduyaD1014024:40
29B. BickellL0000014:09
36D. BollandC0012018:40
39J. HayesR0012015:50
52B. BolligL000408:10
65A. ShawC0001515:25
67M. FrolikR0000010:47
81M. HossaR0003019:45
88P. KaneR0112020:20
50C. Crawford2930.96765:00
7J. JohnsonD1005029:05
9C. GilliesC000129:57
10M. LetestuC0003015:15
11M. CalvertL00-11514:11
13C. AtkinsonR00-15015:21
16D. BrassardC0100016:44
17B. DubinskyC01-14016:35
18R. UmbergerC0001019:25
19R. JohansenC0002017:10
20T. ErixonD0001020:02
22V. ProspalL0001018:29
33A. AucoinD0001014:33
40J. BollR000008:56
42A. AnisimovC0001017:00
47D. ProutD0000020:31
48C. GoloubefD00-11017:43
51F. TyutinD00-12027:24
71N. FolignoL0001019:39
72S. Bobrovsky3940.97565:00