Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
Phoenix
Coyotes
43-26-13
Columbus
Blue Jackets
34-35-13

  • Preview
  • Watch
  • Ice Tracker
  • Boxscore
  • Recap
  • photos (36)
game preview

Jackets hope to end skid against Coyotes

Wednesday, 08.06.2014 / 4:50 AM

NHL.com

Share with your Friends


Jackets hope to end skid against Coyotes
Phoenix Coyotes vs. Columbus Blue Jackets

COYOTES (20-13-9) at BLUE JACKETS (20-19-3)

TV: Fox Sports-Arizona; Fox Sports-Ohio.

Last 10: Phoenix 5-3-2; Columbus 4-6-0.

Season Series: This is the second of four meetings between the teams. Phoenix earned a 4-2 victory against Columbus on Jan. 4 at Jobing.com Arena.

Big Story: Looking to bolster his blue line, Coyotes GM Don Maloney made a splash on Monday when he acquired defenseman Michal Rozsival from the New York Rangers in exchange for forward Wojtek Wolski. Rozsival, 32, had 3 goals, 12 assists a plus-3 rating in 32 games for the Blueshirts this season.

"I know Michal well from my time with the Rangers in New York," Maloney said. "He is an intelligent, puck-moving defenseman who can play heavy minutes against good players. He will make our strong defense even better."

Team Scope:

Coyotes: Taylor Pyatt's goal with 3:12 remaining proved to be the difference as Phoenix earned a 4-3 win against the St. Louis Blues at the Scottrade Center on Monday night. Pyatt has three goals and two assists in the last four games, including the go-ahead goal at Colorado on Jan. 6.

"I had some room behind the net," Pyatt said. "I stepped out and tried to jam the puck as hard as I could. Got lucky, it went between his legs."

Blue Jackets: Columbus is still searching for its first win of 2011 as it enters Tuesday's action with a four-game losing streak. All four losses came on the road as the club's away record fell a game under the .500 mark (9-10-2). The skid reached four on Saturday night, when Columbus suffered a 6-4 loss at Los Angeles.

"We had a good third period. But on the road, we can't get down like that," captain Rick Nash said. "We didn't test (Kings goalie Jonathan) Quick until after the first goal. It was a mistake on their part which gave us momentum, and we used it. We haven't played our best hockey on this trip, but we showed some character."

Who's Hot: Lauri Korpikoski had a goal and an assist for the Coyotes on Monday night. It was his 10th goal of the season. … Nash had two goals at Los Angeles on Saturday and now has 20 on the season. It's his seventh straight season with at least 20 goals.

Injury Report: Blue Jackets forward Ethan Moreau (ribs) is out 2-4 weeks.

Stat Pack: Columbus allowed six power-play goals on the four-game road trip, killing only nine of 15 penalties. Their power play allowed more goals — two shorthanded tallies — than it scored (1-of-11).

Puck Drop: "It's a good way to start the second half of the season. Both teams battled hard. I like the way our guys hung in there. We gave up two quick ones and managed to battle back and Pyatt got a big goal to win it for us." -- Phoenix coach Dave Tippett after Monday's 4-3 win at St. Louis 

2010-2011 season series
DateScoreW. Goal
Mar 24 '11 CBJ 0 at PHX 3 M. Rozsival
Feb 25 '11 PHX 3 at CBJ 5 M. Calvert
Jan 11 '11 PHX 4 at CBJ 3 D. Morris
Jan 04 '11 CBJ 2 at PHX 4 S. Doan
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
K. Yandle4362531+13820
S. Doan33101929-13752
R. Whitney4182028+01420
R. Vrbata4081422+4630
S. Upshall4212921+63402
L. Korpikoski43101020+4801
E. Belanger4351520+21011
L. Stempniak439918+7620
A. Aucoin4111617+133400
M. Hanzal369716+23243
W. Wolski3661016-61000
T. Pyatt3910515+81924
E. Jovanovski405914+43511
K. Turris337613-1201
V. Fiddler435712+12901
D. Morris40358-83111
O. Ekman-Larsson27077+21600
S. Lepisto30336+41900
D. Schlemko23055+01400
A. Ebbett6101+1201
B. MacLean1101+1011
N. Yonkman12011+32400
P. Prucha11011+0400
M. Boedker4011+1200
P. Bissonnette22000+44700
G. Stafford2000+0000
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
I. Bryzgalov3115-8-6809612.63.917
J. LaBarbera146-5-3384413.02.914
M. Climie10-0-01161.88.938
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
R. Nash42201535-11435
R. Umberger43141529+32632
D. Brassard4391726-52242
J. Voracek4181725-11612
A. Vermette4391423+13821
M. Methot3801515+73000
K. Huselius219413-11640
C. Clark365813+02320
F. Tyutin4131013-22000
K. Wilson284711+01200
R. Klesla413710+112400
A. Stralman3301010-41600
S. Pahlsson43369-52000
K. Russell36279-81400
J. Boll34448+011902
J. Hejda41257-81400
D. Dorsett40257-119300
N. Filatov23077+3800
M. Commodore20246-84402
D. MacKenzie27235+1400
A. Murray15235+3400
E. Moreau23145-51601
T. Sestito9224-44010
M. Calvert3101-2200
N. Holden5000+0000
N. Guenin3000-3200
G. Clitsome1000-1000
M. Blunden1000-1000
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
S. Mason2612-11-1757453.26.899
M. Garon238-9-2555622.70.902
Columbusbluejackets.com is the official Web site of the Columbus Blue Jackets. The Columbus Blue Jackets and columbusbluejackets.com are trademarks of The Columbus Blue Jackets Hockey Club.  NHL and the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup are registered trademarks and the NHL Shield and NHL Conference logos are trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P.  Copyright © 2009 Columbus Blue Jackets Hockey Club and the National Hockey League.  All Rights Reserved. View the Columbus Blue Jackets Privacy Policy AdChoices NHL.com Terms of Service
Please use the feedback form if you have any recommendations or comments.